Joyful, joyful, we adore Glee.

When you’ve spent the better part of your adult life living far away from family, you either learn to knit that family bond from a distance or you don’t. And in the event that you don’t, you end up seeing your siblings for holidays and it’s awkward because you know they’ve left you 18 unanswered voicemails. So you just hug them really quickly and emotionally and say: I’ve missed you sooo much! Remember that time Aunt Trudy screenprinted our school photos onto sweatshirts for Mom and Dad? Luckily, I’ve never been in that position (ahem). The truth is, the frequency in which I speak to my sisters is better now than it’s been since we all shared a very tiny bathroom. My younger sister who falls in birth order right under me, works a corporate desk job like I do so our communication is most frequently via email.

I was never particularly close with her in that she was always too close in age, encroaching on what was mine like an obsession with the Jonathans (Taylor Thomas & Brandis). We couldn’t be friends back then because she was too busy trying to simultaneously emulate and despise me, and I was too busy trying to convince her she was adopted.

But then we grew up, I got her drunk for one of the first times in her life, told her I was a big homo, spent a great month as roommates in North Carolina, and things just sort of fell into place after that.

So, on Tuesday evening I get this urgent text from her:

I’ve often commented on Meredith’s choice of television programs that forever clutter our DVR, but it’s time for me to face the music (pun!). Because here it is, kids: I really love watching Glee. And I don’t watch it because it’s so, so bad and fun to scoff at plot lines and bad acting and draaaaama. I watch it because I actually like it.  And so does my sister. Which is great because we no longer have to fight over who gets the centerfold from Big Bopper of Jonathan Brandis in his SeaQuest uniform. Instead, this exchange happens:

And I didn’t know this episode was going to be so sibling-centric, but turns out it was the perfect episode to “live text” with my Floridian sister who has since forgiven me for the adoption lie.

Faberry - it's a thing.

"I waited for this role. For seven years!"

Buy a celeb a drink and he will be less creeped when you corner him outside the restroom.

The next day at work, my sister and I promptly discussed the plausibility of these Glee characters, living in the bland state of Ohio, ditching school for Six Flags when mind-blowing-roller-coaster-park Cedar Point is one of the state’s only redeeming qualities and 2 hours away from Lima. Yes, I Google-mapped it.

Leave a Reply

